Posted in Personal thoughts

That’s Not Feminism. That’s being a Jackass.

from: littlemisseverything.wordpress.com
from: littlemisseverything.wordpress.com

***HOT BUTTON TOPIC BELOW***

Read at your own risk

Maybe it’s the lack of sleep from RLS.  Maybe it’s the self-respect that my parents instilled in me.  Maybe it’s the belief they taught me that I can do anything I put my mind to doing, but all the feminist crap is getting on my nerves.  Am I a bare-foot, pregnant homebody that loves to cook clean, sew, and play happy homemaker?  NO, none of those words describe me. Do I love to cook?  Yes, I do.  Do I love to clean?  Hell, no, I hate it.  I hate laundry, too.  Do I sew?  I have no clue how to even thread a machine.

Who am I?  By biological standards, I am a heterosexual woman.  I have all the anatomical parts that make me female.  I have more estrogen, breasts, and I can create, with a little fertilization, a baby.  I am woman.  Hear me roar.

But am I a feminist?  To answer that question, we have to go to the root of the word:

Feminism

Webster defines it as:

the belief that men and women should have equal rights and opportunities and

: organized activity in support of women’s rights and interests”

 

Now let’s define feminist, shall we? 

It means something, but not what you're using for.
It means something, but not what you’re using for.

Feminist

Webster defines this as:

Wait, hold on.  It’s not in Webster.  They keep pulling up Feminism.  Let me try dictionary.com

” advocating social, political, legal, and economic rights for women equal to those of men.

noun

2.

an advocate of such rights.”

Well, I certainly believe that we should be paid equally, treated equally, and given the same opportunities as men.  I also believe that if a woman wants to break into a field that has been predominantly male, she should NOT be given special dispensation because she is a woman.  This would not make it equal.  Being given dispensation because we are female is like saying, “Because you are the weaker sex, we’ll make it easier on you.”  No.  I don’t want it easier on me.  If I can prove that I can do the same work a man does and just as well, I need the same pay, thank you very much.  Will I cry that I am being treated unfairly because I think it’s too hard?  No, I won’t.  I knew what I was getting into when I started.  Which is my point when I say:

If you want to be treated equally don’t whine when it doesn’t go your way.

I am referring to the women in the military who complain that Ranger training and basic for being a Marine is too hard, and they want it changed so they can do it.  No, you don’t get it your way.  The military is NOT BURGER KING.

To the one female that went to the Citadel and then wanted to sue because it was too hard and she couldn’t do it.  SUCK IT UP, BUTTERCUP.  You wanted to break ground.  You did it.

To all the women out there that snap at men when all they are doing is opening a door for you, STOP, JUST STOP.  You’re what is killing gentlemen-like behavior and common courtesy.  You’re probably the same ones who bitch about how rude they are when they don’t do it.  Make up your damn mind.

To the women that keep making the videos of the men talking to them as they walk down the street,

stop, just stop it already.  NOT ALL MEN ARE CAT-CALLING YOU.  SOME ARE JUST GENUINELY SAYING HELLO.  TRY SAYING IT BACK.  There are some decent guys out there, and you’re coming off as an ice queen.

Stop getting pissed when you parade around half-naked and get negative attention.

Okay, this one might get me in trouble.  Even men with a proper upbringing will look when you show all you have to offer.  Hell, I am a woman, and when a man is walking up the street with no shirt on and he’s ripped, I look.  I am not a hypocrite.  I don’t dress to make men salivate.  I dress to respect myself.  If you want to dress to where half your ass is falling out and the only part of your tits covered are your nipples, go right ahead, but don’t bitch that you’re only being treated like a piece of meat.  Act like one, and you will be treated like one.  Act respectfully and you’ll be taken more seriously.

Take the chip off of your shoulder.

Feminism doesn’t give you the right to be rude.  It doesn’t give you the right to assume that every man is a sexist pig that doesn’t know how to treat women.  Being feminist doesn’t mean you get to demean men.  All it means is that you believe that women should be treated and paid the same as men.  That’s it, nothing more, nothing less.  So stop using it as a reason to be a self-absorbed, man bashing, and gentlemen killing female.

Am I a feminist?

This is a two-fold question for me.  I do tell people what I believe, when I am asked.  That makes me a feminist, I suppose, but I don’t go to rallies, protest, and march when it is called for.  I don’t parade around in skimpy outfits and become offended when men gawk.  I don’t give them a reason to gawk.  I dress respectively.  I speak politely, and I am not afraid to voice my views when asked about them.

Leave those that like to be homemakers ALONE

Seriously, don’t troll them.  Don’t yell at them, and don’t blame them for setting back feminism.  They are minding their own damn business and they are HAPPY doing what they are doing.  You don’t see them handing out pamphlets on the joys of keeping a clean home. They aren’t leading the charge to bring women back into the homestead.  They are happily doing what makes them happy and fills them with joy.  Leave them be.  They never bothered you in the first place.

So, I am a feminist, but I am not radical about it, I guess.  How about you?

Until next time, God Bless you.

Anissa

Author:

I have a passion for natural health, and love staying busy with making jewelry, calligraphy, and making all kinds of crafts.

18 thoughts on “That’s Not Feminism. That’s being a Jackass.

      1. I just hope proper feminists are not set back decades by this stunning summation of your views. Progressing from “feminism” to “radical feminism” to “radical leftist feminism” in the face of mildly disdainful comments absolutely makes your message most memorable.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Thank you. I am just voicing my belief. It is a shame that there are jobs out there that traditionally have a male dominance. There are reasons as to why that is. I just don’t expect or demand they make it easier if I wish to participate. Thank you for you comments.

        Like

  1. Sounds reasonable to me. I’d consider myself a feminist but (I hope) not a PITA. I don’t expect men to open doors for me but I’m very happy if they do when I’m carrying a toddler, and I’d do the same for them. I was once shocked to find out the other (male) trainee doing the same job as me was being paid more. When I eventually asked why they said ‘because he asked.’ Not easy, but lesson learned!

    Like

    1. I am grateful to those who open doors for me. I can tell the difference between someone paying me a compliment and being crass. I don’t mind doing what has traditionally been considered a man’s job. When I do it to the best of my ability, which proves to be as good as a man’s a expect equal pay. 🙂

      Like

  2. Now it’s “radical LEFTIST feminism,” is it? I’ll just stick my neck out here and assume you don’t have any feminists in your bloodline. Because I’ve been in the tug-o’-war since it started in the bra-burning sixties. yep. The nineteen sixties. Let’s just say 50-ish years ago. that’s right. Fifty years, give or take, of wanting equal rights, equal pay and to be taken seriously. Please explain to me what makes a feminist “radical.” This really does sound like parody. Or like 1970. Either way, it sounds like you’ve missed the point entirely. Unless, of course, this is parody. Or satire. Or almost anything but serious.

    Like

    1. All I am saying is, if you want equal pay, do equal work and then demand equal pay. Not every male who joins the Marines makes the cut, and not every male who signs up for Ranger training makes the grade either, but you, expect, since it’s hard, for it to be toned down.
      You expect to be able to dress anyway possible and be taken seriously. More power to you, but don’t expect to be taken seriously when you are showing all of your assets. Men will look, just as women will look at a man who has a good physique and as parading around just about naked.
      What makes a feminist radical is when you take objects, like statues that have been on campuses for decades and symbolize student camaraderie and try to say they are mansplaining, which isn’t even a word.
      Radical is thinking that every man is a neanderthal in that they can’t give you an inane complement without it being blown out of proportion to the point where they are sorry they even said it. Radical is demanding the military to soften their training programs for the Marines and the special forces in other branches so everyone can pass them.
      THAT, in my view is radical. Not every man is crass. Not every piece of art was made to offend, and the military is the military. Either you can cut it, or you don’t.

      Like

  3. I am a feminist, and I agree with you that it means someone who believes men and women should have the same opportunities, and NOT that women own it to all other women to break apart gender roles.
    So if I WANT to stay home and raise my kids, how is that “setting back” anything? I have the SAME OPPORTUNITY as my husband to stay home and raise our children. Actually, he wasn’t really given a choice. He has the capacity to earn more based on his specialties, and I’ve wanted to raise babies ever since I hit puberty. So I called dibs!
    But as a feminist, I found a man that VALUES what I bring to the table. That measures me not by the amount of money I earn, but by the value I add to the household by raising our children. It’s not HIS money, it’s OUR money. And if I want to take a weekend to go to a conference or retreat for one of my hobbies/”jobs,” he respects and supports that. (I used “job” in quotes not because blogging and freelancing isn’t a real career, but because I don’t devote myself to it like it is one. Yet.) Sometimes he opens a door for me, sometimes I open it for him. Depends who gets there first and who’s carrying the sleeping child!

    Like

Leave a Reply

