Posted in Walks With God

Why we all need to work on patience…

…or how trying to hurry up is not what God is trying to teach us.

I could use a little more patience, couldn't you?
I could use a little more patience, couldn’t you?

Let’s face it.  If we were all perfect we would have the patience of an oak, the understanding of a sage, and the wisdom of a guru, but we’re not, so we don’t.  That is why we all look for things in our lives that enrich us, whether that be literature, soothing music, or lessons from God, which usually come from reading the bible and when we pray for something.

In this world of instant gratification, where information and virtually everything else is just a search engine away, we have lost the virtue of patience.  We rush here and there, looking, shopping, comparing, criticizing, judging, yelling, and just about getting into one fight after another because we don’t take the time to slow down and just be in the moment.

We have lost touch with what it was like to just relax, and let things happen.  The same happens, I think, when we pray.  We get on our knees or close our eyes as we lay in bed and begin our prayer, and then we start asking for things.  Clarity, healing for friends, for God to show us how to forgive and move on, and even how to cope with a situation.  We then expect it to happen immediately, in a couple of days or so, and we begin to doubt Him if it doesn’t.  We wonder if He hears us.  We wonders if He is even up there.  We begin to falter, thinking that God has forsaken us when all He is doing is giving us opportunities to grow and learn.  Learn what?  Compassion, love, forgiveness, grace, and acceptance are the lessons He is always trying to teach us.  We just don’t seem to get it in this world of hustle and bustle.

I know I have put this video on my blog before, but I think it bears me sharing it again.  I still believe the person that wrote this script had definite inspiration from God.

Oh, and by the way, I am still reading through the Bible.  I just haven’t been inspired to write about what I have been reading, yet.  I know it’s coming.  I just let God do the work. 🙂

Until next time, God Bless

Anissa

Author:

I have a passion for natural health, and love staying busy with making jewelry, calligraphy, and making all kinds of crafts.

Leave a Reply

