Posted in Walks With God

Circumcision, adultery, and turning the other cheek… Bible in a Year Day 6

To cut, or not to cut, that is the question.

From;http://lavistachurchofchrist.org/
From;http://lavistachurchofchrist.org/

 

Hello, and how are you this morning?  I am doing better than I was last night.  Headaches plagued me most of the night, and into the morning.  I finally got rid of them, and now I am planning on going into town with hubby to help him find a job.  I received a call from a convenience store chain in the area where we are going, and they’re running  background check on me so they can hire me as an assistant lead part time to start.  Isn’t God wonderful?  Prayer does work my friends.  It works wonders!

Circumcision

In Genesis Chapter 17, God tells Abraham (His new name) to circumcise all males born to him, and that belong to him, whether by relation or bought as a slave in order to enter into a covenant with Him.  This has been the thing for centuries, and now, due to the practice being turned into a business, and more foreskin being trimmed than there should be, there is an ever increasing movement to stop it.  Me?  I had our son circumcised.  Did I know better then?  No, but if I knew I had the choice, it would have ultimately been up to Paul.  Am I feeling guilt over it?  Not really, it was a choice made that cannot be undone, and I can live with it.  I don’t lament, fret, or beat myself up about it. What’s done is done.

The new and improved Commandments, where were we?  Oh yes,

27 Ye have heard that it was said, Thou shalt not commit adultery:

Again, simple, don’t have sex with anyone save your wife or husband, period.

Jesus’ new and improved version:

28 but I say unto you, that every one that looketh on a woman to lust after her hath committed adultery with her already in his heart.

Okay, then, don’t even look upon another in a lustful way.  If you do, you have already committed adultery.  Right.  Okay, no problem…  Just one thing to who’s reading this out there and thinking, “I can do that”?  How many times have you figuratively drooled over a famous person?  How many times have you looked upon an actor or actress and thought, “Just half an hour to start”?  In God’s eyes, that is also adultery.  Reading the verse again?  Though Jesus is addressing males in this verse, I believe He is talking to both sexes.

When reading The Word, we always have to consider the time in which it was written, and the language styles being used at the time.  Historically, all societies, at this time in history, were male dominated.  The woman usually stayed in the home.  What do we have next?

29 And if thy right eye causeth thee to stumble, pluck it out, and cast it from thee: for it is profitable for thee that one of thy members should perish, and not thy whole body be cast into hell.

30 And if thy right hand causeth thee to stumble, cut it off, and cast it from thee: for it is profitable for thee that one of thy members should perish, and not thy whole body go into hell.

Wha?  Mutilate ourselves?  Huh?  This took me a little aback, but He is teaching us how to be more holy.  We have to strive to change ourselves, in order to walk a more holy path.  We have to change the things about us that are unholy, and strive to be more Godlike in our thinking and actions.  This also includes cleaning up foul language.  Remember, in the God told us not to take his name in vain; now, Jesus is telling us to completely remove all foul language.

 39 but I say unto you, resist not him that is evil: but whosoever smiteth thee on thy right cheek, turn to him the other also.

We have seen this made fun of in movies, where the person gets smacked on both cheeks.  I really don’t think that is what is meant here.  I think it means not to respond to those who are trying to tear you down with words and actions.  “Turning the other cheek” is another way of saying not to acknowledge the foul comments and venom spitting that others do about you.  It’s hard, but, in the long run, I believe those people are only hurting themselves.

I would go into the “Love Thy Neighbor”, but I’ve already done that here.

Pray for you enemies.  Open your heart and pray for those who wish you harm.  This means anyone jealous of you, anyone that speaks ill of you, anyone trying to ruin you, and oh, yeah, terrorists, too.  Did I lose you there?  I also did a blog post on this, but about a different Book, Chapter and Verse.  You can find that here.

Until next time. God Bless You,

Anissa

 

 

Author:

I have a passion for natural health, and love staying busy with making jewelry, calligraphy, and making all kinds of crafts.

Leave a Reply

