Posted in Personal

My First Nerd Love…

Courtesy of: library.wisc.edu
Courtesy of:
library.wisc.edu

 

Ever since I was a child, I loved watching the animated movies.  I didn’t know how much I was missing until I got my hands on The Hobbit, and I realized how much I was missing.  I loved the way the book was written, and my imagination conjured far better images than the movie.  It wasn’t until I was a little older that I learned movies don’t always reflect the books.  I still go back and watch the movies.  I love the artistry in the animation.

It was after I had my son that I read The Lord of the Rings.  I became completely immersed in the world and the realms that Tolkien had created.  I fell in love with each character and the interactions between them.  I laughed, I cheered, and I cried when Gandalf was lost.  Oh did I cry.  I was with Sam and Frodo on their journey, and cheered Sam on when, undaunted, he saved his friend and they finished their quest.  I reached for the tissues again as they lay upon that rock waiting for death.

I was excited when the live-action movies hit the screen.  Mind you, I wasn’t expecting everything in the book to be in the movies, but I was looking for key things, some little, some big.

I loved the fact they had Gandalf discover Sam listening in on the conversation between him and Frodo.  I was in awe at the fireworks display, and the “disappearance” of Bilbo from his own party.  I have always believed the little things make the movie worth seeing when you have fallen in love with the book.  It had plenty of little things.

I missed Tom Bombodil.  I know.  I know.  He wasn’t a main part of the story, but he did help the hobbits out, and I would have loved to see how they would have worked his wonderful spirit into the movie, him and Goldberry.  Alas, I was a bit disappointed, but it didn’t last long.

The interaction between Legolas and Gimli had me in stitches.  They got it perfect.  I loved that.  The littlest thing they got right?  Merry and Pippin being taller than than Sam and Frodo after they drank the Ent Draught.

I loved the movies.  Yes, I am showing my geek again, but I don’t care. lol

I have seen the first part of the Hobbit.  Again, I was amazed.  I loved how they left in enough little things to keep me smiling.  Now, the inclusion of Legolas and adding a character that isn’t even in the book for a love interest for Legolas has me on edge.  I do not mind leaving things out because of time constraints, but adding things in that are not in the book?  I don’t like it.  It trips the frustration switch.  If it isn’t in the story, it shouldn’t be in the movie.  Sorry, but that is just the way I see it.  I will see the rest of the Hobbit movies.  I will give them the benefit of the doubt.  I will sit in the theater or with the disc in the laptop, and watch them objectively.  I will.  I really will.  I promise.

Author:

I have a passion for natural health, and love staying busy with making jewelry, calligraphy, and making all kinds of crafts.

Leave a Reply

