Posted in General, Personal

Of Mothers and Visits…

Minnesota flag
Yep, they live there now.

My parents are down from Minnesota this past week.  They are leaving tomorrow.  You see, they have been living up there for about seven years.  They had to move up there in order for my dad to keep his job with Northwest Airlines (who is no more).  They had a choice of locations, and the chose Minnesota.  

Do I wish they could come back?  Yes.  Will they ever be able to come back?  No.  Their finances will not allow it.  Even if they could, mom said she wasn’t going to go backwards.  She has her heart set on Alaska, for some reason.  

If their moving has taught me anything, it’s that -no matter how much you think your parents can get on your nerves when you’re grown, you miss them like crazy when you can’t drive for half an hour to visit them.  The first year was pure hell.  Mother’s Day and Father’s Day were rough beyond belief.  My husband and I hadn’t been married long, and he was chalking all of it up to PMS (Don’t worry.  He has since gotten better.  If fact, I feel God has blessed me with a kind and understanding man.)  I tried to convincing myself after Father’s Day that I could handle this.  I told myself that I was stronger than what I was acting.  I actually thought I had it licked.

Then Came Thanksgiving…

There I was, getting the car to head to my mother-in-law’s house for Thanksgiving dinner.  No sooner did I get in the car then I fell apart.  I started crying. All I could think of was how I couldn’t see my parents for dinner, and how they wouldn’t be there.  I fell apart again when I got to my in-law’s house.  My hubby’s mom was wonderful.  It’s amazing how God works.  Here I am depressed and missing my parents without measure, and here is my mother-in-law hugging me and comforting me because she understood.   I am truly blessed to have such an amazing family in my in-laws… I should say second family.  They don’t feel like in-laws after all.  That title doesn’t suit them.

Author:

I have a passion for natural health, and love staying busy with making jewelry, calligraphy, and making all kinds of crafts.

Leave a Reply

